Blockbuster: Ignoring history….grasping at straws?

A friend of mine asked me to help him evaluate Akimbo about two years ago.

I stated, matter-of-factly, “They want to integrate another set-top box and they have no premium comment. Excuse me, but pass.”

I’m not putting down Akimbo. I’m pointing to history. Even Tivo, a phenomenal product which arguably removed the biggest pain point for television watching, has struggled mightily to grow their business.

So Blockbuster, I shudder at your <a href=”http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/04/10/blockbuster-goes-all-vudu-with-plans-for-its-own-set-top-box/”set-top box announcement</a>. Not only with you try to refute history, but you’ll try to do it with technical DNA coursing through your bloodstream–though you arguably have the content. I might have bit if you announced a deal with someone with some media clout and expertise, like Apple, to do it with you.

More power to you if you pull it off, but I just don’t see it happening.

If you know of a more successful set-top integration beyond Tivo, please let me know, I’d love to hear about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

